“I take no joy in introducing this resolution, but any member who cites political violence and threatens our lives must be expelled,” Gomez stated Friday. “I believe some of my Republican colleagues, and one in particular, wish harmed upon this legislative body. I’m not saying this for shock value. It’s the conclusion I drew after a member of Congress advocated violence against our peers, the speaker and our government.”

Seventy-two Democrats have supported this resolution; zero Republicans.

Under the Constitution, the House of Representatives has the facility to expel any member with a two-thirds vote, but it surely’s not anticipated there could be the votes for that, particularly amongst Republican members. Still, the help for the resolution does illustrate the rancor and divisiveness that has taken root within the House because the riots on January 6 and the storming of the Capitol.

In February, the House voted to take away Greene from her committee assignments, a decisive step that got here within the wake of not too long ago unearthed incendiary and violent previous statements from the congresswoman that triggered widespread backlash from Democrats and divided congressional Republicans.

House Democrats, who management the chamber, arrange the vote after first making an attempt to stress Republicans to strip the Georgia Republican of committee assignments on their very own. House Republicans didn’t take that motion, nonetheless.

Greene defended herself forward of the vote in a speech on the House ground and tried to distance herself from the damaging and debunked QAnon conspiracy principle, which she has beforehand embraced.

Outrage over Greene grew extra intense in Congress within the wake of a report from NCS’s KFile that she repeatedly indicated support for executing prominent Democratic politicians in 2018 and 2019 earlier than being elected to Congress.
The Georgia Republican has additionally confronted backlash over not too long ago resurfaced feedback concerning the 2018 Parkland school shooting.

In a press release to NCS, Green stated “House Democrats have declared war on House Republican Women,” including that “Democrats are trying overturn the will of the People who voted for both myself and Congresswoman Miller-Meeks.”

Here are the 72 Democrats who help the resolution:

Jake Auchincloss, Joyce Beatty, Earl Blumenauer, Jamaal Bowman, Brendan Boyle, Tony Cárdenas, André Carson, Matt Cartwright, Kathy Castor, Joaquin Castro, Judy Chu, Yvette Clarke, Steve Cohen, Gerald E. Connolly, Jim Cooper, Lou Correa, Jason Crow, Rosa L. DeLauro, Mark DeSaulnier, Ted Deutch, Veronica Escobar, Anna G. Eshoo, Adriano Espaillat, Dwight Evans, Bill Foster, Ruben Gallego, Jesús G. “Chuy” García, Raúl M. Grijalva, Alcee L. Hastings, Jahana Hayes, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Jared Huffman, Pramila Jayapal, Mondaire Jones, Robin Kelly, Ro Khanna, Ann McLane Kuster, John B. Larson, Barbara Lee, Alan Lowenthal, A. Donald McEachin, Jerry McNerney, Grace Meng, Seth Moulton, Grace F. Napolitano, Marie Newman, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, Ilhan Omar, Bill Pascrell, Jr., Donald M. Payne, Jr., Scott Peters, Ayanna Pressley, Kathleen M. Rice, Jan Schakowsky, Albio Sires, Adam Smith, Darren Soto, Marilyn Strickland, Eric Swalwell, Dina Titus, Rashida Tlaib, Ritchie Torres, Lori Trahan, David Trone, Juan Vargas, Nydia M. Velázquez, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Maxine Waters, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Susan Wild, Nikema Williams, Frederica S. Wilson.

NCS’s Jessica Campisi contributed to this report.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *