2021 Kyoto Prize recipients.

The 2021 Kyoto Prize Symposium will embrace lectures by chemist and know-how pioneer Ching Tang, astrophysicist James Gunn and acclaimed stage director Ariane Mnouchkine, pictured right here at a presentation ceremony in 2020.

UC San Diego Extension hosts Livestream of worldwide symposium

James Gunn

James Gunn

Established by Japanese philanthropist Kazuo Inamori, the Kyoto Prize honors the lifetime achievement of laureates who’ve additionally contributed to the betterment of humankind by means of know-how, science and the humanities.

Similar to the MacArthur “Genius” Grant and the Nobel Prize, recipients of the Kyoto Prize, a lesser-known award, are simply as well-known for his or her societal affect. This 12 months’s recipients are giants of their respective fields who’ve modified the world as you realize it, together with a pioneer of the natural light-emitting diodes which might be making it attainable for you to learn these very phrases on a digital display.

Since 2002, San Diego has had the unique honor of presenting the Kyoto Prize laureates to a North American viewers.

University of California San Diego will just about host this 12 months’s three lectures on March 24 and 25, as a part of the 2021 Kyoto Prize Symposium. The annual occasion—co-hosted by UC San Diego and Point Loma Nazarene University—options talks from recipients of Japan’s highest honor for world visionaries.

“People have no higher calling than to strive for the greater good of humankind and society,” stated Kazuo Inamori on the time he established the muse that awards the Kyoto Prize.

Each awardee receives 100 million yen (greater than $900,000) and a 20-karat gold medal in recognition of their extraordinary contributions within the discipline of arts and sciences in addition to their extraordinary lifetime contributions to humankind and society.

This 12 months’s Kyoto Prize Symposium illuminates the imaginative and prescient of the Inamori Foundation, and the thirty fifth Kyoto Prize laureates: Ching Tang, Professor Emeritus on the University of Rochester and Professor on the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology; James Gunn, Professor Emeritus of Astrophysical Sciences at Princeton University and Ariane Mnouchkine, founder and director of the Théâtre du Soleil in Paris.

Ariane Mnouchkine

Ariane Mnouchkine

Over the years, the Inamori Foundation has acknowledged 111 extraordinary people from 17 nations who’ve made super contributions to society.

“For years, co-hosting the prestigious Kyoto Prize Symposium has provided our students opportunities to learn firsthand how discoveries are made and what inspires the preeminent scientists of our time to keep asking new questions,” stated Chancellor Pradeep Ok. Khosla. “UC San Diego is honored to partner with the Inamori Foundation in promoting our shared goals of scientific progress, cultural advancement and human betterment.”

This 12 months’s Kyoto Prize laureates had been chosen in three groundbreaking fields:

  • In “Arts and Philosophy,” Mrs. Ariane Mnouchkine is a founder and director of the Théâtre du Soleil in Paris. A preeminent European director, she has produced masterpieces with historic and political themes tied to each the East and the West. Her 5 many years of theatre creation embody the best of “public theater.” She holds honorary doctorates from the University of Oxford and Roma III—and was awarded the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement in 2007 by the Venice Biennale.
  • In “Advanced Technology,” Ching W. Tang, Ph.D., is famend for his pioneering work in creating natural light-emitting diodes (OLEDs) and their widespread software in shows, televisions and lighting. Tang invented a brand new system construction during which two rigorously chosen supplies had been stacked, permitting for high-efficiency gentle emission at low drive voltages. A chemist and professor, Tang has acquired a mess of awards and honors, together with the Wolf Prize in Chemistry and the National Inventors Hall of Fame.
  • In “Basic Sciences,” James E. Gunn, Ph.D., is Emeritus Eugene Higgins Professor of Astrophysical Sciences at Princeton University. He led the pioneering Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS) from its {hardware} design part, starting in 1992. SDSS is regarded among the many most formidable and influential surveys of the cosmos within the historical past of astronomy. Gunn performed a significant position within the challenge, together with planning, instrument growth and information evaluation, and contributed to our fashionable understanding of the evolutionary historical past of the universe.
Ching Tang

Ching Tang

“The Kyoto Prize winners have shown an exceptional dedication to their craft and humanity and I couldn’t think of a better North American home for their presentations than UC San Diego,” stated Mary Walshok, Associate Vice Chancellor for Public Programs at UC San Diego and Dean of UC San Diego Extension. “Discovery and invention thrive at our university, but also the overarching aim of making the world a better place. The recognition of a prestigious prize like this shines a light on the significant contributions of intellectual and artistic pursuits to society.”

In addition to the worldwide prize winners, the opening ceremony will embrace a digital profit gala recognizing seven excellent highschool seniors from the San Diego and Baja California area who shall be awarded 2021-2022 Kyoto Prize scholarships valued at up to $10,000 (or 100,000 pesos) every.

For extra data and to register for the free symposium, please go to The Kyoto Prize Symposium website.

(perform(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(doc, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *