The Collegiate Women Sports Awards honored Baylor junior energy ahead NaLyssa Smith with the Honda Sport Award for basketball Thursday.
The Honda Sport Award has been introduced yearly by the CWSA for the previous 45 years to the highest ladies athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports activities and signifies “one of the best in collegiate athletics. The winner of the game award turns into a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the celebrated 2021 Honda Cup, which will likely be introduced on a telecast on CBS Sports Network on June twenty eighth at 8 p.m. CT.
Smith was chosen by a vote of directors from over 1,000 NCAA member faculties. Finalists included Dana Evans (Louisville), Naz Hillmon (Michigan) and Rhyne Howard (Kentucky). Smith joins Brittney Griner (2012) as the one different Lady Bear to win the Honda Sport Award.
Smith led the 28-3 Baylor Lady Bears to Big 12 Championships within the common season and match whereas serving to Baylor to its tenth NCAA Elite 8 look.
A Converse, Texas native, Smith continues so as to add to her trophy case after already being chosen because the WBCA’s Wade Trophy Award winner for nation’s prime participant, she was named a First-Team All-American by the Associated Press, the John R. Wooden Award and, and she or he earned second-team honors from the USBWA. She was the Naismith/WBCA Katrina McClain Award winner for the nation’s prime energy ahead.
She was named the Big 12 Player of the Year, the Most Outstanding Player of the Big 12 Championship and was an NCAA Riverwalk Region All-Tournament choice after Baylor’s exit within the Elite 8.
Smith averaged 18.0 factors and eight.9 rebounds per recreation whereas capturing 56.1 % from the sector and 79.2 % from the charity stripe. She added 38 steals on protection to go together with 26 blocks for the Lady Bears.